WE DON’T WALK ON WATER. WE POWER UP.

FOR ELECTRICITY

Situé dans une zone très pauvre, l’avenir du Parc dépend de son succès économique et de sa contribution à la construction de la paix et du développement de la région. Emmanuel de Mérode, Directeur Général du Parc, et son équipe ont créé un plan ambitieux qui vise à utiliser les ressources naturelles du Parc pour assurer un développement socio-économique durable. Le plan est basé sur un investissement important dans l’énergie hydro-électrique à courant libre, qui permet de fournir de l’électricité à une grande majorité des 4 millions d’habitants vivant autour du Parc.

 

La mission première de l’énergie hydraulique est de stimuler le développement économique. Les clients cibles sont les petites et moyennes entreprises comme ‘Virunga Origins’. Sans accès à l’électricité, nous ne serions pas capable de produire du chocolat au niveau local. L’énergie hydraulique des Virunga permet de garder la valeur ajoutée de toute la chaine de production, afin qu’elle profite aux communautés locales et à la sauvegarde du Parc.

EXPLOREZ VIRUNGA ORIGINS

  • NOUS FABRIQUONS LE CHOCOLAT LÀ OÙ LE CACAO POUSSE

    Dominique Persoone est notre chocolatier Rock’n Roll renommé. Il a formé les équipes de ‘Virunga Origins’ à l’art noble qu’est la confection du chocolat, avec son accent pour la qualité et le goût.

    EN SAVOIR PLUS

  • RIPPLES OF CHANGE MORE THAN A DROP IN A CUP

    En tant qu’entreprise sociale, nous fabriquons nos produits localement. L’ensemble des acteurs impliqués dans la fabrication du chocolat en profite.

    EN SAVOIR PLUS

EAT CHOCOLATE, FEEL ELECTRIC

Positioned in the context of extreme poverty in a region recovering from 20 years of civil war, the Park’s future existence relies on its economic success and its contribution to peace-building and development in the region. Emmanuel de Merode, Chief Warden of the Park, and his team have created an ambitious plan to use the Park’s natural resources for sustainable socio-economic development. The plan is anchored by a major investment in free-flowing hydroelectric power to supply electricity to a significant proportion of the surrounding population of over 4 million people.

 

The primary mission of hydro-power is to stimulate economic development. The main customer target group is small and medium-sized enterprises, like Virunga Origins. Without access to this electricity, we would not be able to produce the chocolate bars in Congo. The Virunga hydro-power plant keeps the value of the entire production process within the local community, ultimately benefiting the Park’s conservation efforts.

EXPLORE OUR ORIGINS

  • WE MAKE CHOCOLATE WHERE COCOA GROWS

    Dominique Persoone is our Rock-n-Roll chocolatier, and he has trained the Virunga Origins team in the noble art of chocolate making with his singular focus on quality and taste.

    READ MORE

  • RIPPLES OF CHANGE MORE THAN A DROP IN A CUP

    As a social enterprise, we make our products locally. Everyone who is involved in the making of the chocolate benefits. 100% of all profits go back to Virunga National Park and its surrounding communities.

    READ MORE